May 31, 2011

Greg Biffle took the checkered flag in dominating fashion over Jimmie Johnson by nearly eight seconds on October 3, 2010 at Kansas Speedway. It was Biffle’s first win of the season and his second at Kansas.

Kasey Kahne would lead the drivers to the green flag and hold that position for the first 28 laps until Jeff Gordon was able to pass him for the lead. Gordon would hold the lead by 3.5-seconds until the first yellow flag of the day would come out on lap 42 when Juan Pablo Montoya would make contact with the wall in turn three.

When green flag racing resumed Gordon, Ryan Newman, Kahne, Matt Kenseth and Tony Stewart would lead the field.

However, the run would last for only six laps when David Reutimann and Kyle Busch would get together in turn two causing Reutimann to spin. While Reutimann was able to keep the car under control, the incident sent Reutimann three laps down beginning the controversy. Many people thought that Busch intentionally caused Reutimann to spin his car.

When green flag racing resumed on lap 56, Kenseth took the lead from Gordon and Stewart would soon take second place from Gordon. Stewart would challenge Kenseth for the lead and successfully take it on lap 81.

Johnson would continue to make his way back up through the field by passing Denny Hamlin on lap 76, while Kansas native Clint Bowyer found himself back in 35th.

After pit stops on lap 80, Stewart would lead Biffle, Kenseth, Kevin Harvick and Jeff Burton. On lap 154 with Busch having made it into the top 10, he was reminded by Reutimann of the earlier incident as both cars got together on the backstretch. The result - Busch’s car had major damage and Reutimann once again spun his car.

Harvick, Mark Martin and Newman would stay out on track to gain valuable track position. Once racing resumed on lap 159 it was for only a short time, in fact for a period of five laps, when Kahne would hit the wall in turn four. However, Stewart was able to make his way to the front and pass Harvick for the lead down the backstretch with Biffle following close behind.

The fifth yellow flag of the day would come out on lap 186 when Kevin Conway’s car would lose its engine allowing the other drivers the opportunity to visit pit road. Missouri native Jamie McMurray and Paul Menard would take two tires on the stop and would lead Biffle, Kenseth and Stewart on the lap 196 restart. Menard and McMurray would battle for the lead and on lap 207, Menard would take the lead and over the next 20 laps gain a 3.2-second lead as pit stops began just 32 laps before the checkered flag.

Once the green flag pit stops had been completed on lap 209, Biffle would lead Stewart, Kenseth, Johnson and Harvick. Missouri native Carl Edwards would briefly take the lead from Biffle on lap 237 but would surrender it back to Biffle on lap 239.

Johnson worked his way back to the front and took the second spot with 10 laps to go but Stewart would get loose and fall back to fourth allowing Biffle to gain a valuable lead that no one else would be able to close.

“It was a great day for us,” Biffle said after taking the checkered flag, “The car ran flawless.”
Meanwhile, Johnson took over the lead in the point standings by eight from Hamlin as the drivers would swap the points lead in Texas leading to the season showdown in Homestead when Johnson was able to overtake Hamlin by 39 points for his fifth consecutive series championship.