Feb 3, 2011

NASCAR drivers Jimmie Johnson, Jamie McMurray, Juan Pablo Montoya, Brendan Gaughan,     A. J. Allmendinger and Michael McDowell, who are scheduled to return to Kansas Speedway this season, competed in the Grand-AM Racing Series Rolex 24 at Daytona this past weekend.

Chip Ganassi Racing, which took first and second at Daytona, has dominated in big races recently, winning the 2010 Daytona 500 and Brickyard 400 with McMurray, the 2010 Indianapolis 500 with Dario Franchitti and the Rolex 24 at Daytona.

The #02 team of McMurray, Montoya, Franchitti and Scott Dixon, a two-time IndyCar Series winner at Kansas Speedway, took second to teammate Scott Pruett, who is the defending Grand-AM Racing Series champion, Graham Rahal and Memo Rojas. NASCAR Sprint Cup Series driver Johnson’s team had a 15th-place finish, Sprint Cup Series driver Allmendinger and NASCAR Nationwide Series driver McDowell brought home a seventh-place finish and NASCAR Camping World Truck Series driver Gaughan finished 12th.

“It’s really quite amazing what Chip’s done,” McMurray said. “From a team side of it, it’s really amazing for not only this group, but just the whole organization and what he’s been able to accomplish. It’s incredible.”

The Grand-AM Racing Series also featured a Kansas native. Scott Tucker, from Leawood, KS and owner/driver for Level 5 Motorsports, had an eighth-place finish in the #55 car.