2010 NASCAR Season Preview


As the 2010 season gets underway with testing at Daytona, it seems there are still several questions that need to be answered.
Here's a look at some of the questions and changes in store for NASCAR in 2010.
In December 2009, the Associated Press named Jimmie Johnson their Athlete of the Year, making him the first driver to win this honor. With Johnson receiving this award it may help put the question, “Are drivers athletes?”  to rest, though the topic is surely going to be continually debated.
With Johnson winning his fourth consecutive NASCAR Sprint Cup Series championship in 2009, many fans, drivers and media are wondering if a fifth title is in the stars for him in 2010.
After months of speculation, Danica Patrick struck a deal with JR Motorsports and will now compete in the NASCAR Nationwide Series.  Patrick will begin her stock car career by competing in the ARCA Series at Daytona and will join the NASCAR Nationwide Series for a number of races this season in addition to her full-time IndyCar Series gig.
The NASCAR Nationwide Series will debut three new models in 2010 with the Chevrolet Impala, the Dodge Challenger and the Ford Mustang.  These new models will first appear on July 2 at Daytona and used in three additional races in 2010. The new car designs are expected to be fully adopted in 2011.
Kyle Busch will add team owner  to his resume as he fields trucks in the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series as the season kicks off this year. Busch will share driving duties of the No. 18 Toyota with rising talent and Busch protégé, Brian Ickler, who finished fifth at Kansas Speedway in 2009.
Kansas Speedway’s NASCAR racing will kick off with the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series O’Reilly Auto Parts 250 on Sunday, May 2, 2010. The NASCAR Nationwide Series and NASCAR Sprint Cup Series will take on the 1.5-mile track on October 2-3, 2010.
To purchase Kansas Speedway tickets, call 866.460.RACE or log onto www.kansasspeedway.com.
This website uses cookies and similar technologies. By using this website, you are agreeing to our revised Privacy Policy (including our cookie policy) and our Terms of Use. OK

© 2021 Kansas Speedway


ISC Track Sites