Castroneves Claims Indy 500 Victory


Just one month after finishing second at Kansas Speedway, Helio Castroneves captured his third Indianapolis 500 win. Castroneves’ victory was a fitting succession to his second-place finish at Kansas Speedway in April, which came on the heels of his return to the IndyCar Series. 


Castroneves finished second in the Road Runner Turbo Indy 300 at Kansas Speedway, behind Scott Dixon (2008 Indianapolis 500 winner). The finish continued his streak of finishing every Kansas race in the top 10.


“This year is very competitive,” said Castroneves. “The Road Runner Turbo 300 was very good to prepare for the Indy 500.”


Castroneves became the ninth person to win three Indianapolis 500 races, and the first to do it under 10 race starts (this was Castroneves’ ninth start).

 "This is incredible," said Castroneves. "I think my tears speak for everything. What a great team. I'm here today because of those guys. And obviously the fans. You guys don't understand. You guys kept me strong. You guys are the best. I'm honored to have fans like you.”


Castroneves won the Indianapolis 500 from the pole, and led the final 59 circuits to edge Dan Wheldon, who had back-to-back IndyCar Series wins at Kansas Speedway in 2007 and 2008, to the finish line by 1.9819 seconds.


Kansas Speedway tickets are on sale now. The 2009-2010 Ticket Package includes the NASCAR Nationwide Series Kansas Lottery 300 and NASCAR Sprint Cup Series Price Chopper 400 presented by Kraft Foods on October 3-4, 2009, and the O’Reilly Auto Parts 250 and IndyCar Series Road Runner Turbo Indy 300 in the spring of 2010. Call 866.460.RACE or visit for tickets today.

This website uses cookies and similar technologies. By using this website, you are agreeing to our revised Privacy Policy (including our cookie policy) and our Terms of Use. OK

© 2021 Kansas Speedway


ISC Track Sites