Kansas among Greatest Finishes of 2008


NASCAR.com recently recognized the 2008 Kansas 400 as one of the five fantastic finishes of this past year. It featured three-time NASCAR Sprint Cup Champion Jimmie Johnson stretching his lead 10 car lengths with only two laps remaining, only to see Carl Edwards’s front bumper in the final moments.

“Where did he come from?” Johnson said. “He figured out something. I thought I had it under control.”
Edwards threw himself into the wall using the “bonsai” move, hoping to propel his car into first place.
“I could just hang with Jimmie, I couldn’t get him until the last couple of laps when I just started ‘bonsai-ing’ it around the top there,” Edwards said. “He knew what I was doing, so he went up there to block. That last lap I just figured the hell with it, I don’t want to finish second here.  I want to win this race more than anything in the world.”
The race concluded with a thrilling .280-second difference between first place Johnson and Edwards. Johnson left Kansas Speedway leading Edwards by 10 points overall, on his way to winning his third consecutive NASCAR Sprint Cup championship.
Edwards’s valiant effort at the Kansas 400 helped Kansas Speedway earn Sprint’s Monster Moment of the year, awarded by the fans at the 2008 NASCAR Sprint Cup Series Awards Ceremony in New York. A “monster moment” is one in which a race driver displays tremendous competitiveness and a strong desire to win.
Don’t miss the chance to see another great race in 2009. Purchase your Kansas Speedway ticket packages now by calling 866.460.RACE or logging on www.kansasspeedway.com. Packages include the Kansas 400, the third race in the Chase for the NASCAR Sprint Cup, the NASCAR Nationwide Series Kansas Lottery 300, the IndyCar Series Road Runner Turbo Indy 300 and the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series O'Reilly Auto Parts 250.
This website uses cookies and similar technologies. By using this website, you are agreeing to our revised Privacy Policy (including our cookie policy) and our Terms of Use. OK

© 2020 Kansas Speedway


ISC Track Sites