Johnson, Edwards look forward to 2009 season


The top NASCAR Sprint Cup Series drivers are gearing up for the beginning of the 2009 season. The racing world is reflecting on a 2008 season that saw reigning champion Jimmie Johnson win his third straight Sprint Cup, handing Carl Edwards, Columbia, MO native, a second-place finish. The two are no strangers to 1-2 ranking finishes.

Race fans and media alike are already picking their favorites to win this season. While most of the hype is surrounding Johnson’s No.48 car, Edwards has crept into the conversation for the favorite to be the next Chase for the Sprint Cup champion. 

“I think we have a lot to look forward to. Our team finished really strong, and I feel like we made some changes in the off-season that are going to be positive ones on the crew, some additions that are going to be great,” Edwards said. 

Johnson managed a victory over Edwards at the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series Kansas 400 in 2008. Edwards’ foiled “banzai move” propelled him into the wall and a second-place finish. His attempt for the win made it one of the greatest finishes of last season, according to It also served as a snapshot of their battle to the 2008 Championship

“I want to win this race more than any other on the schedule. Wins here feel so good just because of how many people come here that I know and grew up with,” Edwards said.

The two drivers open the 2009 season ranked in the top two spots of most polls. 

“There is no doubt about it, the guy is going to be tough. He’s going to be tough, but I think the 48 car should be ranked number 1,” Jimmie said.

Kansas Speedway will, once again, serve as a key battleground in the Chase for the Sprint Cup this October 4, 2009. Call 866.460.RACE or visit for tickets or more information. Kansas Speedway's Ticket Package includes the IndyCar Series Road Runner Turbo 300, NASCAR Camping World Truck Series O’Reilly Auto Parts 250, NASCAR Nationwide Series Kansas Lottery 300 and NASCAR Sprint Cup Series Kansas 400, the third race in the Chase for the Sprint Cup.

This website uses cookies and similar technologies. By using this website, you are agreeing to our revised Privacy Policy (including our cookie policy) and our Terms of Use. OK

© 2020 Kansas Speedway


ISC Track Sites