Johnson Inherits Camping World RV 400 Pole


Starting Lineup

Jimmie Johnson inherited the pole for the Camping World RV 400 at Kansas Speedway after Juan Pablo Montoya’s top time was disallowed, denying him of his first career pole.

Montoya had run a lap of 172.150 mph to take ths top spot. But in inspection, the Texaco Havoline Dodge was found to have a problem, exceeding the maximum pressure allowed in the car's rear shocks.

That moved second quick Jimmie Johnson up to the top spot and Montoya will fall to the rear of the field and take the green flag 42nd on Sunday.

Johnson also inherits the number one pit stall for the race which will give him an added boost in his hope to win his first race in this year's Chase.

“It was a very, very good effort for us,” Johnson said after running what he though was a lap good enough for the outside front row.

“Everybody knows how important track position is. I thought that the 18 (Kyle Busch), the 99 (Carl Edwards) and the 31 (Jeff Burton), I thought some of those guys were much stronger than they posted today in qualifying. I thought they were better than that in practice. I was shocked to see some of those guys on the right side of the (timing) screen and at the bottom of it.

“But this is just one day of three and the important day is Sunday. It doesn’t mean it’s a layup weekend where we pick up points on the other Chase competitors, but every little bit helps.”

Matt Kenseth, who now moves up to third, was the only other driver in the Chase field able to crack the top ten.

The rest of the Chasers qualified as followed: Dale Earnhardt Jr. was 11th, Jeff Gordon qualified 13th, Greg Biffle was 18th, Clint Bowyer 24th, Kyle Busch in 27th, Denny Hamlin 30th, Edwards 34th, Kevin Harvick 36th, Burton 37th and Tony Stewart 41st.

Michael McDowell and Johnny Sauter failed to make Sunday's race.

This website uses cookies and similar technologies. By using this website, you are agreeing to our revised Privacy Policy (including our cookie policy) and our Terms of Use. OK

© 2020 Kansas Speedway


ISC Track Sites