Hamlin Wins Kansas Lottery 300


Race Results | Photos

KANSAS CITY, Kan. - Denny Hamlin became the eighth different winner in as many NASCAR Nationwide Series races at Kansas Speedway after he took the checkered flag in Saturday's Kansas Lottery 300.

Hamlin became the first driver to lead the most laps and go on to the victory at the 1.5-mile speedway. He started from the 19th position and led 99 laps en route to Joe Gibbs Racing's 17th NNS win of the season.

It was Hamlin's fourth win of the season and it also wrapped up the Nationwide Series manufacturer's title for Toyota.

"Since we took the magnets off the gas pedal we can really push the accelerator down now," Hamlin joked.

Since the penalties NASCAR assessed to Joe Gibbs Racing for the Michigan dyno controversy, the team has not slowed down.

"I've never seen a team get penalized for doing such hard work," Hamlin said. "It's just the details of our team that are making us so strong."

Hamlin's chief obstacle Saturday was polesitter Kevin Harvick, but he was able to get around the No. 33 Chevy on a great late pit stop and never looked back.

"With the spacer on these cars it's hard for anybody to get a run and pass you," Hamlin said. "I knew if I got in front of Harvick he'd have to be significantly faster to get by us."

Series point leader Clint Bowyer finished second to maintain the top spot in the standings.

David Ragan, Carl Edwards and Matt Kenseth rounded out the top five.

Brad Keselowski, Kasey Kahne, Jason Leffler, Joey Logano and Kelly Bires completed the first ten finishers.

It wasn't a good day for Kyle Busch who started last after changing a steering column before the race and charged to the front.

He was up to sixth but was hit hard by Mike Bliss and his day ended in a hard crash.

“I had a lug nut come loose and got run over by the 1,” Busch said bluntly.

This website uses cookies and similar technologies. By using this website, you are agreeing to our revised Privacy Policy (including our cookie policy) and our Terms of Use. OK

© 2020 Kansas Speedway


ISC Track Sites