Bowyer Seizes the Opportunity to Snag a Win

Kansas native Clint Bowyer grabs his second NASCAR Sprint Cup Series win at Richmond last weekend
Bowyer came from a 31st starting position at the back of the field to push his way through pile-ups and blown tires to the lead the pack on lap 398.
Bowyer pulled ahead for the win after a defining collision between Dale Earnhardt, Jr. and Kyle Busch in lap 398. This win would have ended Earnhardt’s 71 race winless streak. Clint Bowyer commented on his win.
“We were fast all night, and once we were up there, we were able to run a lot better,” said Bowyer. “You've got to be able to be there for the taking, at least, and we were close enough to do just that. I think it was bound to happen.” 
The Earnhardt and Busch’s collision came after an eleven-car pile up and ten cautions. Denny Hamlin led the heart-pounding race 381 laps, but a flat tire on lap 383 landed him a 24th position finish.    
Busch was able to remain in second followed by Mark Martin, Tony Stewart and Martin Treux, Jr. At the end of the day all three Richard Childress racing drivers were in the top five standings in points: Jeff Burton in second, Clint Bowyer in fourth and Kevin Harvick right behind him in fifth. Busch commented on his collision with Earnhardt, Jr.

“You know that was just a product of good, hard racing.  I apologize that that happened, and I hated that it did,” said Busch. “Fortunately he didn't get hurt, so he was able to continue.  He'll see another day of racing.”

 Catch Bowyer and your favorite drivers at the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series Kansas 400 and NASCAR Nationwide Series Kansas Lottery 300, September 27 – 28 with the NASCAR Truck Series O’Reilly Auto Parts 250 and IndyCar Series Road Runner Turbo Indy 300 on April 26 - 27, 2009. Get your tickets to day by calling 866.460.RACE or visit online at
This website uses cookies and similar technologies. By using this website, you are agreeing to our revised Privacy Policy (including our cookie policy) and our Terms of Use. OK

© 2020 Kansas Speedway


ISC Track Sites