Wheldon Snags the Win, First since Last Year at Kansas Speedway

Dan Wheldon made Kansas Speedway history in the Road Runner Turbo Indy 300, becoming the first driver to win two IndyCar Series races at Kansas Speedway.
Wheldon, who led 49 laps, held off Tony Kanaan and teammate Scott Dixon, who led all but 55 laps.
“It was a really good weekend at Target Chip Ganassi Racing. The cars were very competitive the whole weekend,” said Wheldon. “The crews performed flawlessly and that’s the kind of weekend you want.”
Danica Patrick, who was coming off her first career victory, finished 19th. Helio Castroneves remains the point leader followed by Dixon and Wheldon, respectively.
Earlier in the Firestone Indy Lights Series Kansas Lottery 100, rookie J.R. Hildebrand took home the victory earning him the points lead. Finishing second was Robbie Pecorari followed by Arie Luyendyk Jr.  
It feels so good for the team; everybody has worked so hard," said Hildebrand. "To be able to come away with a win in just the fourth race has put us in a really good spot in the championship. 
Tickets are available for the NASCAR Nationwide Series Kansas Lottery 300 and NASCAR Sprint Cup Series Kansas 400, September 27 – 28 with the NASCAR Truck Series O’Reilly Auto Parts 250 and IndyCar Series Road Runner Turbo Indy 300 on April 26 - 27, 2009. Get your tickets to day by calling 866.460.RACE or visit online at www.kansasspeedway.com
This website uses cookies and similar technologies. By using this website, you are agreeing to our revised Privacy Policy (including our cookie policy) and our Terms of Use. OK

© 2020 Kansas Speedway


ISC Track Sites