The New Era of Open-Wheel Racing Begins

Scott Dixon snagged the IndyCar Series season-opener last weekend despite an increased number of opponents, including eight former Champ Car World Series drivers. Dixon passed Marco Andretti for the win by less then a second. 
The season opener began one month after the IndyCar Series and Champ Car World Series merge. This allowed the former Champ Car drivers only three weeks to prepare to compete in a new car on an oval track.
Oriol Servia led the former Champ Car drivers with a 12th-place finish. Servia commented on the challenge of racing on an oval track for the first time.

“At the end of the day, we're still fighting these big teams that know this car for five years. We're still quite a bit behind,” said Servia. “At least we know in a street race, when we go soft at the front what it means to a car. Still we're here guessing a lot. But it was fun. I look forward to next weekend.” 

Servia joins Will Power, who had the highest practice speed of the Champ Car drivers, Bruno Junqueira, the three-time Champ Car runner-up, and Justin Wilson, who is in his fifth year of open-wheel racing, in the establishment of Champ Car drivers in the new era of IndyCar Series.
Other IndyCar veterans close behind Andretti were Dan Wheldon, with a second-place finish, Helio Castroneves, finishing third and Ed Carpenter in fourth place. Danica Patrick started the season with a sixth-place finish and has her eyes on a first-ever win in 2008. Patrick did snag a win, across the county, at the Nickelodeon’s Kid’s Choice Awards in the Favorite Female Athlete category against Cheryl Ford and Venus and Serena Williams.
Catch IndyCar at its fullest at Kansas Speedway; the last stop before Indianapolis.
Dixon, Servia and Andretti will be wrapping up the race weekend in the IndyCar Series Road Runner Turbo Indy 300 on April 27. The IndyCar Series race follows the NASCAR Craftsman Truck Series O'Reilly Auto Parts 250 on April 26 and the ARCA RE/MAX Series Kansas Lottery $150 Grand on April 25, which will have free grandstand admission to the public, courtesy of the Kansas Lottery.
Get your RPM Ticket Package today, that includes the IndyCar Series, NASCAR Craftsman truck Series and ARCA RE/MAX Series as well as September’s NASCAR Sprint Cup Series Kansas 400 and the NASCAR Nationwide Series Kansas Lottery 300. Call 866.460.RACE or visit online at
O’Reilly Auto Parts Qualifying Day tickets for Sept. 26 and Sprint Fan Walk tickets and pre-race pit passes are also available online or by calling 866.460.RACE.
This website uses cookies and similar technologies. By using this website, you are agreeing to our revised Privacy Policy (including our cookie policy) and our Terms of Use. OK

© 2020 Kansas Speedway


ISC Track Sites