Kansas Speedway's 2007 Award Worthy Moments


Controversy, intrigue, dominating performances and an almost fairy-tale ending. Kansas Speedway's 2007 season had all of this and more. Here's a look at some of the most memorable moments from this past year.

  • Controversy - the LifeLock 400 ended in dark mystery (well sort of). With the sun behind the grandstands and two delays behind them, NASCAR shortened the race. With the caution flag out as the field approached the start-finish line, Greg Biffle slowed down allowing hometown favorite Clint Bowyer and series champion Jimmie Johnson to pass him. NASCAR ruled the field was frozen and declared Biffle the winner, dashing the fairy-tale ending of Bowyer winning at his home track in '07.
  • Ladies first - For the first time in IndyCar Series history, three women (Danica Patrick, Sarah Fisher and Milka Duno) started the Kansas Lottery Indy 300. All three ladies finished 14th or better in the race.
  • First time winners - The April weekend saw two first time winners visit victory lane - Scott Lagasse in the ARCA Re/Max Series Kansas Lottery $150 Grand and Erik Darnell in the NASCAR Craftsman Truck Series. Darnell dominated the O'Reilly's 250 leading 92 laps and winning by a margin of 10 seconds - the second largest margin in Kansas Speedway history.
  • Domination - In another dominating performance during the April weekend, Dan Wheldon finally visited victory lane after finishing second the previous two years.
  • Rain, rain go away - For the first time in the seven year history of Kansas Speedway, the NASCAR NEXTEL Cup Series LifeLock 400 was delayed due to rain - twice.
  • Dashed dreams - Kansas Speedway wasn't kind to six of the Chase for the NASCAR NEXTEL Cup drivers as they finished 35th or worse, including Tony Stewart who was leading before the second rain delay.

Like all awards shows, not everyone can win and for the third time in four years, a non-Chase driver won at Kansas Speedway (Greg Biffle). Biffle's victory was a win for all non-Chase drivers - he was the only non-Chase driver to win in the final 10 races of the season. The only driver who was involved with the Chase for the NASCAR NEXTEL Cup and won at Kansas Speedway - Mark Martin in 2005.

To be a part of all of the action in 2008 including the third race in the Chase for the NASCAR Sprint Cup, order your Kansas Speedway tickets today by calling 866.460.RACE or logging onto www.kansasspeedway.com.

This website uses cookies and similar technologies. By using this website, you are agreeing to our revised Privacy Policy (including our cookie policy) and our Terms of Use. OK

© 2020 Kansas Speedway


ISC Track Sites