May 17, 2011
Posted In

Matt Kenseth joined Kyle Busch and Kevin Harvick as drivers with multiple wins in the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series on May 15 at Dover after a two-tire change call came on lap 367, when a spin brought out the last caution of the day. Kenseth out gunned his former mentor Mark Martin for the win after Martin stayed out on old tires.

Marcos Ambrose, Busch and Brian Vickers rounded out the top five, respectively. Jimmie Johnson and current point leader Carl Edwards had battled most of the day for the lead and were joined by Kansas native Clint Bowyer late in race after he beat the duo out of the pit box on lap 338.

Bowyer finished sixth on the day followed by Edwards, Martin Truex, Jr., Johnson and Harvick. Kenseth’s win moved him up four positions in the point standings and he is now 74 points behind leader Edwards, who increased his lead over Johnson to 24. Bowyer moved up one spot in the point standings to eighth, 80 points behind Missourian Edwards.

On Saturday, Edwards took the checkered flag under caution in the NASCAR Nationwide Series after a second attempt for a green-white-checkered flag finish when Joey Logano hit the wall which triggered a several car incident that included Bowyer, who was in third at the time. Busch, Reed Sorenson, Ricky Stenhouse, Jr. and David Reutimann rounded out the top five. Elliott Sadler finished in sixth and took over the points lead by 10 over Sorenson.

Busch, who was trying to tie Mark Martin for wins in the Nationwide Series, got into Logano on lap 86 along with Sorenson. Busch would pass Jason Leffler on the restart when Justin Allgaier would blow a right front tire, however, a red flag would come out a few laps later as rain began to fall. Racing resumed on lap 149 and Logano and Edwards would swap the lead for several laps until Edwards was able to overtake Logano for good on lap 187.

On Friday night, Busch would win his third race of the season in the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series in five starts. Busch surged to the lead over rookie-of-the-year leader Cole Whitt with three laps to go. Busch took the checkered flag under caution when Nelson Piquet Jr. and Timothy Peters were involved in an incident on the final lap.

Matt Crafton finished third took over the points lead and now leads Johnny Sauter, 2010 O’Reily Auto Parts 250 at Kansas Speedway winner and Crafton’s Thorsport teammate, by five points.  Whitt moved up two positions to third, just seven points behind Crafton.

The Sprint Cup Series heads to Charlotte next week for its annual All-Star race which can be seen on Saturday, May 21 at 6:00 PM (CT) on the Speed Channel, while the Nationwide Series heads to Iowa on May 22. The race will air at 2:00 PM (CT) on ABC. The Camping World Truck Series will start the weekend off at Charlotte on May 20 which will be televised at 7:00 PM (CT) on the Speed Channel.

All events at Kansas Speedway are currently on sale including the upcoming O’Reily Auto Parts 250 and the STP 400. Tickets can be purchased by calling 866.460.RACE (7223) or by visiting Parking is always free at Kansas Speedway. Fans can bring in one 14x14x14-inch- soft sided cooler with their favorite beverages and food.